This spot is located at the southern coast in Tahiti. It can be found outside of a small village that is named Teahupo'o. Two body boarders, Ben Severson and Mike Stewart, discovered this surf spot 1986. Professional surfers began to arrive in the early 1990s. The waves at Teahupo'o can reach 10 feet or higher and have a glassy appearance. Many surfers have dubbed this location a must-surf. Only surfers that are experienced are recommended to ride the waves at Teahupo'o. The reason is that the shoreline is shallow and the waves can be very heavy.

Every year the Billabong Pro tour is held at Teahup'o. It is a part of the World Championship Tour. Some of the winners of this competition include Kelly Slater, Andy Irons, Bobby Martinez, Damien Hobgood, and Cory Lopez.